Pint & Polish

exploring beer and nail lacquer in alaska

Hare-Cast In Bronze

Oh my gosh what?? Two posts in a week’s time? No way! 

 

Yes way! I remembered to take pictures, and decided to stop being quite such a perfectionist with my photos for now. It was hindering me from making posts regularly and that just will not do! If need be, I can go back later (during the summer, when the light is fantastic) and reshoot.

Speaking of summer, it feels like it’s on its way here today-it’s actually just barely above freezing! It’s wreaking havoc though, as the heat wave has been accompanied by freezing rain for most of the day. It’s not supposed to be as bad as “The Great Freezing Rain Event of November 2010” (Weather Service’s words, not mine!) but is still making the roads treacherous. Baby was sick today, so we stayed home from a playdate, and I’m kinda glad we did, now.

(As an aside, I actually did drive to work during aforemention Great Freezing Rain Event of November 2010, and was one of the few people who did at that job-even though I lived the farthest. I had good tires, and in retrospect it wasn’t the most brilliant move I’ve ever made, but I felt like it gave me some street cred.)

So to keep my mind busy, while my heart worries over my husband driving home in about an hour, I have pictures for you of Hare’s Cast In Bronze, one of the six polishes in her Finders Keepers Fall 2012 collection. I had initially planned on purchasing them as a set and getting it out of the way all at once, but the exact day that I trundled up to Llarowe to make the buy the listing was taken down! Bummer! So I ordered Cast in Bronze and Golden Years right then, and was able to later snag Amethystos. That leaves Oceans of Alloys, King of Carat Flowers, and Reverie in Rubelite. 

Cast in Bronze looked pink with copper glitters on the swatches I saw, and so I was surprised when I opened her up and it was a very pink-purple kind of taupe! I was unsure. I don’t like the word taupe. It looks nice enough, but the pronunciation is ugly to my ears. And it usually means some sort of weird murky brown thing that never, ever looks like it fits on my skin.

Cast in Bronze, to my utter and complete delight, was not some weird murky brown thing. The base color manages to be some sort of dark neutral on me! And the copper glitters are beautiful in it. I even liked it matted. I feel like this was the first indie glitter I ever purchased that actually managed to not be “out there.” I could wear it to my mommy group and not feel like I’m trying to be a wild young thang, with all my blue and green and rainbow glitter polish and such. 

ImageImageImage

Application was excellent, with one dab needed (to fill in an particularly glitter-less spot). I used three coats and the jelly base built up nicely. You may notice that I’m sportin’ stubby nails, which means I can’t tell you exactly how sheer this is, as I don’t have a nail line anymore, but for what it’s worth, where it’s layered it doesn’t seem terribly sheer. I’ll have to try this out again when my nails are grown out more and get back to y’all on that.

 

I have one other Hare polish on hand I’ll have to try soon and get pictures of for you-Golden Years! And I made a massive order during a-England’s Thank You sale, so prepare for a post with swatch spam of a-Englands I already have in preparation for that arrival.

Until next time! Muah!

-Allison

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hare-Cast In Bronze

  1. This is lovely! Much more vibrant than it shows on llarowe’s site. I can’t wait to see swatches of Golden Years, too!

Leave a Reply

