Pint & Polish

exploring beer and nail lacquer in alaska

Fat Tire New Belgium Ale

Finally, a Pint post! Ha! Hey, it’s hard finding time for the alcoholic portion of our show when there’s a one year old running around under one’s feet. 😉 But today, I made an exception and popped one while he’s down for his long nap of the day. After all, Fat Tire has finally made it to Alaska!

I first tried Fat Tire beers when I lived in Georgia, about 3-4 years ago. It was at the beginning of my vast developing love affair with beer, and I still thought that the moon hung on Blue Moon. 

(To be fair, Blue Moon is still my comfort/default beer of choice! It’s just so yummy!)

When my soon to be brother-in-law at one of the local alcohol distributors in town informed me that they’d start carrying it up here, though, I was determined to revisit it. And lo, it was a good decision! 

My notes on this beer:

“smooth, slightly sweet/malty, balanced hops. Good beer-not quite sessionable, as it’s a little thicker than I’d say for that term, but definitely something I could have 2-3 of on a good night!”

This amber ale is described as such: Fat Tire Amber Ale’s appeal is in its feat of balance: toasty, biscuit-like malt flavors coasting in equilibrium with hoppy freshness.” So pretty much what it says is what you get!

Honestly I enjoyed this beer a lot-I’ll probably squirrel the ‘commemorative’ bottle away somewhere in hopes that one day I can show it off. And I’ll definitely be buying more!

Now, pictures!

Image

Image

 

Image

 

 

And my newest fridge magnet! 🙂

Image

 

Be back in a few days with my review of Digital Nails’ Bad Wolf. See you then! 

 

❤ kettish.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fat Tire New Belgium Ale

  1. I got my masters degree from Colorado State in 2005 and went through the program with New Belgium’s marketing director. Hubs and I did the tour of the brewery (of course). I’ve been a huge fan ever since! So fun to see Fat Tire profiled by another nail polish lover. 😀

    • Aw, that’s amazing! Fat Tire was a smoother beer than I recalled-one more reason I’m glad I revisited it after a few years! Good to see another nail polish lover who also loves beer, too! 😉

Leave a Reply

