Pint & Polish

exploring beer and nail lacquer in alaska

Digital Nails’ Bad Wolf

Hello there guys and dolls! I’m back (in a relatively respectable amount of time, again! what’s going on!) with, as promised, Digital Nails’ Bad Wolf.

Bad Wolf. Blaidd drwg. Darlig ulv. There are many ways to say it, scattered across time and space, a message to and from a certain Doctor’s Companion by the name of Rose Marrion Tyler, who looked into the heart of the TARDIS and saw herself. Rose was far and away my favorite companion for a long, long time (until Donna popped up-“Oy, Spaceman!”) and still part of my OTP for the fandom. She’s often described as being all pink and yellow, which I always found an apt description considering her bleach-blonde hair and propensity for bright girly pink. Not my schtick, personally, but she seemed to enjoy it, so, y’know. 

It’s the same propensity that prompted my choice of undies for Bad Wolf. After some agonizing and a little putting-off (I didn’t feel like Bad Wolf would shine brightest as a solitary glitter, much like Serenity and several of Digital Nails’ other polishes) I finally decided on the ‘pink’ part of the pink-and-yellow equation: a-England’s Iseult, a sheer, soft, shimmery light pink that is almost a neutral and I believe provides a nice backdrop to show off Bad Wolf.

Raphael, creator of Digital nails, describes Bad Wolf as “pale gold flakies, white flakies that flash gold in the sun, duochrome mica pigment that shifts from an almost undetectable aqua to a strong pale gold. It also has both hexagonal and square glitter in as many iridescent color shifting colors and sizes as I could find (at least 10!).” Phew! It has a LOT going on! And it’s certainly gorgeous, golden, and glowing-just like the heart of the TARDIS.

Below is shown two coats of Iseult with just ONE (1!) coat of Bad Wolf on top!

In bright indoor lighting:

Image

 

Image

And in bright sunlight:

Image

 

The formula on Bad Wolf was definitely thick but not unmanageably so. If it really bothers you, you can thin it out just a tad with regular nail polish thinner. I showed just one coat over a base color above, but Digital Nails’ description of Bad Wolf claims it can reach opacity in three rather thin coats, and I may try that next time! Also, surprisingly, this polish was not super-duper rough when it dried-I achieved smooth nails with two coats of Gelous and a coat of butter LONDON’s topcoat. Sounds like a lot, but I think I actually had one coat of Gelous too many, and that it would’ve been fine with just the one (especially if you’re slappin’ a coat of Seche Vite on top).

All in all, this polish gets an A in my gradebook! Would buy again, etc. 😉 You can purchase Bad Wolf for yourself at Digital Nails’ etsy shop for $10.00. She also ships internationally, so if you’ve been hankerin’ for some sweet, sweet indie polish goodness but are stuck somewhere that isn’t a big part of that scene, here you are! Personally, I’m going to try and get my hands her polish Convergent, which is new to her shop and named after convergent evolution. BALLIN’.

Hope y’all enjoyed-stay tuned next time for yet ANOTHER amazing indie polish by ILoveNP, who has recently reformulated her polishes and sent me two colors for review, Don Juan and Window Shopping. 

Have a baby moose that showed up at my doorstep before you go! 

Image

Later dudes and dudettes! 

❤ kettish.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

