Pint & Polish

exploring beer and nail lacquer in alaska

Model City Polish Valentine’s Day Polishes

Hi there! If you’re alive and not being frozen/roasted by the polar vortices, you should know about today’s brand (especially since I’ve had them on before!). Model City Polish is the brainchild and creation of Nina Kasper, who happens to be a good online friend. I purchased both of her Valentine’s Day polishes as soon as they went live on her gorgeous new site, and have them on today for your perusal!

Model City Polish Valentines Day Duo

The first of the two I’ll be reviewing today is More Than Words, a “berry holographic jelly blend with a splash red micro flakes.” The red micro flakes are an excellent addition to this polish, as they give it a little extra somethin’-somethin’ that distinguishes it from other jelly holos. Unfortunately, the combined effect is difficult to photograph, though I gave it my best shot anyway!

Model City Polish More Than Words

 

Here’s a photo of it under a bright sunlight lamp-it really shows off the holo effect that is a little more difficult to see in the first photo.

MCP 04

Isn’t it just gorgeous??!! Freaking amazeballs!

The second new polish is called Never Tear Us Apart, and isย a clear base blend with holographic dust, large and small silver holographic hexes, tiny pink holographic hexes, and pink holographic hearts. The overall effect is WHOAMYGOD HOLO! Like FOR CEREAL GUYS. FOR SUPER CEREAL. I tried Never Tear Us Apart over piCture pOlish Flirt, but for some reason my camera couldn’t handle the awesomeness and washed it out to a weird coral color (when it’s really shockingly pink!). So forgive the grossness of the base color and try and focus on how amazing Never Tear Us Apart is-at the end I’ll show some swatches of it with other base colors, for comparison. ๐Ÿ™‚

Model City Polish Never Tear Us Apart

The formula on More Than Words is a little bit thin but with a polish like that I prefer it thinner than thicker. It was perfectly manageable though I did get a little drag if I tried going over a section that wasn’t dry yet. Totally worth it for the beautiful, luminous berry pink color that resulted! When removing MTW I found a little more resistance than I thought I’d have, due to the microflakes, but it wasn’t bad at all.

Model City Polish Never Tear Us Apart

 

And again, a photo showing the holo-y goodness (it still doesn’t touch the total SPARKLE this polish has goin’ on-my camera was overwhelmed!-but it does a little better).

Model City Polish Never Tear Us Apart

The formula on Never Tear Us Apart is perfect-just thick enough to keep the hearts and big hexes suspended, and I didn’t have to fish a single bit to get hearts on the brush. In fact, on my first swatch of it, I had to deal with *too many* hearts on the brush-I don’t need four hearts on a single nail! Removal is average for glitter toppers.

Here’s the photo I promised with a few swatches of Never Tear You Apart over different colors. From left to right, the four base colors are butter LONDON All Hail the Queen, Chaos & Crocodiles LH06 (review upcoming!), Mentality Wily, and Milani Black Swift. My personal favorite is over the purple, but the black shows off the glitter best I think! ๐Ÿ™‚

Model City Polish Never Tear Us Apart

Model City Polish Never Tear Us Apart over nude, purple, pink, black base colors

Model City Polish can be purchased at their brand-new fancy-shiny website on bigcartel! Each of these polishes was $8.50 each, which is a complete steal for the quality. I hope to have more of her polishes to review soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

I think I’ll try and get a picture of how awesome the holo glitters in Never Tear Us Apart are tomorrow, but for now, I’m hitting the sack! Good night and happy polish dreams-

 

Allie.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

